Thursday, August 21, 2008

FRUIT JUICE GUMMIES!!!!



Ok, I must have died and gone to heaven! I always search any health food store for a new fruit juice gummy and I NEVER even thought about making them (which is NOT like me!!). I was THRILLED to find this recipe featured in the daily CRAFT newsletter. As it mentions, even vegetarians could make these by replacing the gelatin with agar agar. I truly can't wait to make these and now must scour the local thrift store for some tartlet molds... Thanks CRAFT and Epicurious! Oh, and rockin' Cookie Magazine where this recipe originally appeared.

2 comments:

Mystique Island Photography said...

Tiffany, I didn't know that agar agar is for vegan, because in Indonesia, we usually say jelly as agar-agar, and I thought agar-agar is Indonesian language. I was surprised you know that word and I found on wikipedia that agar-agar is from Malay language.
:) thanks for sharing, maybe I should try this from my daughter.

Tiffany Teske said...

Hi :) I think that agar agar, which I did know about before I saw this recipe is derived from sea vegetables, which would make it vegan to my knowledge...where are gelatin is from horses hooves or something. Anyway, thanks for your comment, I am going to check out Wikipedia. Please do let me know if you try this recipe. I found some candy making molds at a thrift store so may use those... I will keep you posted!